Rockland County Umpires

  • Home
  • Membership
  • Meeting Dates
  • Baseball
  • Softball
  • Home
  • Membership
  • Meeting Dates
  • Baseball
  • Softball

2017 update #2

1/24/2018

 


Please read and review the 2017 rule book 4ule 4, section 3 page 52 Designated Player

Concerning DP/FLEX, there are several things that the coaches can do and can’t do. As umpires we must know what is and is not allowed. For example
The DP and FLEX can play defense together, any 9 of the 10 players currently in the lineup can play defense. If both the DP and FLEX players play defense at the same time, then the player on the bench is a “offensive player only” they have not left the game and will bat if their spot in the line- up is due the next half inning.
The DP can bat and if she reaches base the FLEX can pinch run for her. In this case the DP has left the game and the lineup is only 9 players. The DP can re-enter the game and the FLEX goes back to the 10th spot.
The DP and flex cannot play offense together, because the only place the FLEX can enter to hit is the spot occupied by the DP. In this case the DP has left the game once and the lineup is down to 9 players.
Situation 1...R1 on first, one out. R1 legally attempts a steal on the release of the pitch, the batter pops up the pitch in fair territory between home plate and the pitchers circle. The third baseman attempts to catch the pop up but the ball hits off her glove and rolls into foul then dead ball territory. At the time the ball rolls into dead ball territory R1 has already touched second base.
Ruling. Place the batter-runner on second base and place R1 on third base. See rule 8, section 5, item I. page 103.
Situation 2...The count on the batter is 2 balls and 2 strikes. On the pitch the batter checks her swing and pulls the bat back, the ball hits the bat and goes directly to the catcher’s glove and is caught.
Ruling. The batter is out due to the foul tip. See rule 1 Definition of “Foul Tip” page 28 and rule 7, section 4, item E page 89.
Situation 3..R1 on first and R2 on second, no outs. R1 leaves prior to the release of the pitch. The pitcher pitches the ball and the batter- runner grounds to the third baseman who fields the ball and throws to second base prior to R1 reaching second. After the play the defensive coach wants the option to take the result of the play and decline the R1 leaving early.
Ruling. This option does not exist because the ball is dead as soon as the runner, R1, left to soon. See rule 8 section 7 item S page 108.
Stay in the book and please email any questions to Eric Lanks and myself.

Comments are closed.