the following was asked of Eric and I and after several emails to out state interpreter, NYSSO has made the following ruling...
We received the following question from a coach:
Is the DP who is playing on defense in the position of pitcher or catcher entitled to a courtesy runner when they come to bat in the next half inning on offense?
This question was sent to NYSSO for clarification and this was their interpretation.
Any pitcher or catcher who bats for themselves and reaches base safely is entitled to a courtesy runner. This includes if the player is also the DP. It does not matter who is in the Flex position.
In the top of the first inning only, the pitcher and catcher are identified as those players listed on the line-up card as pitcher or catcher. Every player listed in the starting lineup needs to have a position listed, so it would not be possible for the DP to get a courtesy runner in the top of the first inning. After the top of the first inning, the player physically playing the position coming off the field on defense is considered the pitcher or catcher for courtesy runner purposes. Since the DP may play any position on defense, it is possible for the DP to get a courtesy runner following defensive half-innings when they came off the field as the pitcher or catcher.
We understand this may seem in conflict with some parts of the rule book, but this is the official NYSSO interpretation / ruling and MUST be understood and followed..
Umpires please go over your rule book concerning the DP and FLEX as several coaches plan to get more creative this season..
Lanks and Savoia